Independence Day (India): 5 Interesting facts

India observes Independence Day on August 15 every year as a national holiday

to remember the day the country gained its independence from the United Kingdom and the provisions of the 1947

Indian Independence Act, which gave the Indian Constituent Assembly legislative authority, went into force

Prior to adopting the Constitution of India on January 26, 1950 (also known as Indian Republic Day),

which replaced the dominion prefix Dominion of India with the sovereign law Constitution of India,

India continued to be ruled by King George VI.

Following the Freedom Movement, known for its primarily nonviolent resistance and civil disobedience, India won independence.

By the seventeenth century, traders from Europe had established outposts on the Indian continent. By the 18th century,

the East India Company had become the dominating force because to its superior military prowess in battles and annexations of regional kingdoms.